Correct way to change all tranny oil ( TQ too )

This forum is exclusively to address ATF fluids, their applications, etc. Feel free to discuss the "facts", but save the flaming for private. Please ask all other transmission-related questions (such as parts) in the Engine & Drivetrain forum.
itkonen
Frequent Contributor

Correct way to change all tranny oil ( TQ too )

Post by itkonen »

I am going to change new transmission oils and filter to my mk IV -72 also. The car is running and I have no knowledge how old the oils are, since the car is new to me. I have bought 13 quarts of Gulf Type F ATF and new filter kit from RockAuto. I would like to get all old oil out from tranny and TC too.

Since I have never had a car with automatic transmission before, I have no knowledge about this procedure. With manuals it is simple, drain and fill...

What is correct procedure for this that I do not break the tranny and/or torque converter? I would really appreciate if someone could give step by step instructions to autotranny-rookie :smt001

P.S. I had this same question in other topic, but since got no answers, decided to start new.
1972 mk IV
Dan Szwarc
Site Admin

Re: Correct way to change all tranny oil ( TQ too )

Post by Dan Szwarc »

You don't. At least, you don't have to.

Tranny fluid does not really need to be changed. It's not as critical as old motor oil sitting in an engine. If it's shifting OK and the fluid isn't brown own doesn't smell burnt, don't bother changing it.

Others may disagree, but transmissions sometimes encounter problems when old fluid is changed not because the old fluid is an issue, but because things get dislodged when new fluid is introduced.

All transmissions will need new seals eventually and after 42 years, your Mark is coming due.

Save your money and time. Don't Change it if it's ok now.

Otherwise, to drain the TC, pull the tranny access plate under the engine and rotate the flywheel until you see the drain plug. Pull it and wait.