2022 Forum Migration Progress Update: Aug 14, We are back!

Check here for the latest information about this forum, its policies, rules, changes, backup schedule, features, etc.
Dan Szwarc
Site Admin

2022 Forum Migration Progress Update: Aug 14, We are back!

Post by Dan Szwarc »

See the last post for the latest update here

Because of the problems, I'm working towards figuring out how to back up and update the forum to the latest phpBB3 from 3.0.12 to 3.3.x. It's a big task for me and I have to break it up across several days or weeks. I don't have the time and motivation to work on the forum hours on end as I still have a normal job, a normal responsibilities, etc.

As I've mentioned before, I am not a computer expert, a php or MySQL expert, etc. I have to research everything the way a plumber has to research electrical wiring or a baker how to fix a car. I have no idea what I am doing and have no training or education doing this. I'm not even self-taught because I don't consider myself a novice.

So the plan is to perform the following:
  • Shut down forum temporarily to freeze files
  • Backup existing databases
  • Copy databases to new server & local (my PC)
  • Get copies up and running Failed 04/18/2022. Images not loading.
  • Update copies to new software
  • Test copies to verify operation
  • Update original installation
  • Re-open the forum
  • Repeat every 6-12 months
This could take me a few days to a month or more. Please be patient. The forum will shut down multiple times during this process.
Mike
Dedicated Enthusiast

Re: 2022 Forum migration and update coming March-April

Post by Mike »

I know the feeling trying to figure the stuff out and keep things going and there's a lot of content here.
Thanks for all the work :)
1963 Continental
2007 Crown Victoria LX
and a couple Chryslers and Cadillacs
TonyC
TLFer for Life

Post by TonyC »

If I could help in any way, I would. But I'm even less schooled in web programming.

---Tony